Blurred Lines (Love Unexpectedly #1) by Lauren Layne

5-stars
Overall Rating: 5 Stars
Title: Blurred Lines
Author: Lauren Layne
Series: Love Unexpectedly #1
Format: Audiobook purchased from Audible

Synopsis:
In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Alice Clayton and Emma Chase, Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.

GOODREADS

Review

I’d been in the most epic book slump for over a month and this was the first book that finally, finally tore me out of it.

This was my first Lauren Layne book and I’m absolutely in love.

Particularly with the characters and the subtle, yet hilarious, humor.

Parker and Ben have the absolute best friendship with their inside jokes and their loyalty and support of each other. Ben, in particular, was such an attractive character… and I don’t just mean physically. He was such a refreshing character. He was confident and slept around, but he wasn’t a conceited jerk. At all. (To be honest, I’ve been so sick of the cocky manwhore character in contemporary romance novels, lately.)

There were so many moments in this book where I absolutely had to bow down to Lauren Layne’s sense of humor. It was reminiscent of Sally Thorne’s quirky, low key humor, and maybe that’s why I was loving every second of reading this book.

Well, the humor and the total swoon-worthy, butterfly-crazy moments that had me squealing.

How this book has flown under the radar for me for so long, I have no idea, but I’m so grateful I decided to read it.


Audiobook Performance: 5 stars

5-stars


Butterfly Rating: 5 Stars

5-stars


Re-read Worthiness: YES!

I already have lol!


Bookshelf Placement: YES!


Book Boyfriend Rating: 5 stars

5-stars
He’s definitely one of my new favorites!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blurred Lines (Love Unexpectedly #1) by Lauren Layne

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s