Happily Ever Afters: A Four Kingdoms Novella by Melanie Cellier

book review

Overall Rating: 4 Stars

Happily Ever Afters: A Four Kingdoms Novella by Melanie Cellier


Goodreads synopsis:

Sometimes a fairy tale ending is only the beginning…

Sarah and Evelyn have already risked everything to help Ava win a crown. But they soon learn that a coronation is a beginning, not an ending. Not everyone in Rangmere is happy to see the young queen on the throne, and intrigue and danger lurk all around.

The cousins find themselves fighting not only for their new kingdom but also for their own survival in the royal court. When a new threat emerges, the two girls must defeat it to both save the crown and secure their own Happily Ever Afters.

Full book details.



Let me just say how surprised I was when I found out that Happily Ever Afters: A Four Kingdoms Novella was told in Sarah and Evelyn’s point of view! I thought it was so amazing that it was told like that because I was expecting it to be in Ava’s point of view! (Just saying now if you don’t read this series in order you are going to be a little confused! It’s a MUST to read them in order! I also have reviews here and here on the past books in the series and will have upcoming reviews in the later books in The Four Kingdoms series.)

Happily Ever Afters was such an interesting book to have read about the happy endings of each of the characters in the book. It gave a further ending to Ava and Hans and their wedding, and also about Sarah and Evelyn their happy ends. But not only did the book give their happy endings, it also gave intense and interesting details of what happened along the way that made you eager to turn the pages.

Although it was a little shorter than the other books in the series, it still had so much meaning to it!

Kayla’s Age Recommendation: 12+

This is a clean series but does have a little bit of violence in it for anyone who is concerned.


Butterfly Rating: 2 Stars

This book barely gave me butterflies but it was intense.


Book Boyfriend Ratings: 4 Stars Each



For the book boyfriend rating there is 3 girls Sarah, Evelyn, and Ava so that means 3 different boyfriends for each girl. (If you read the books in order you would know that Ava is already married to Hans)

I would give all of them Hans, Miles, and Jake ⅘ because they were really good for each girl even though Evelyn and Jake fit together in the end as well as Sarah and Miles. And Ava was engaged in the last book “The Princess Fugitive”. All of the couples are so in love with each other!


Like I said before you should definitely read the books in order:

The Four Kingdoms Reading Order:

  1. The Princess Companion: A Retelling of The Princess and the Pea (Book One)
  2. The Princess Fugitive: A Reimagining of Little Red Riding Hood (Book Two)
  3. Happily Ever Afters: A Four Kingdoms Novella
  4. The Princess Pact: A Twist on Rumpelstiltskin (Book Three)
  5. A Midwinter’s Wedding: A Four Kingdoms Novella
  6. The Princess Game: A Reimagining of Sleeping Beauty (Book Four)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s