What to Read After the A Court of Thorns and Roses Series [Book Hangover]

book hangover

We’ve all been there. We finish a book and we are in such a state of shock and denial that it is hard to come out of the coma those pages of words have left us in.

The hardest part about finishing an incredible book is finding your next read. Believe me, I totally understand. I’ve been there several times. Some books you can enjoy and then simply walk away from them, but every so often you come across a book that just sticks with you. A book you wish would never end.

In the Book Hangover Series, I’ll be talking about the books that have left me with massive hangovers that no amount of advil or rereading could cure and the books that I think are worthy of being a follow-up read.

I started the A Court of Thorns and Roses series a year or two ago, and it hooked me from the start. A Court of Mist and Fury, the second novel in the series, left me with a serious book hangover that I had a very hard time getting out of.

Luckily, this series is now complete and has 3 giant books that are all available for purchase. Not only that, but the lovely Sarah J. Maas plans on writing several spin-off novels. Check out the series on Goodreads.

after ACOTAR read TOG

What to Read After the ACOTAR Series

Until then, if you are suffering from an ACOTAR-series-induced book hangover, here’s my follow-up read suggestion: Throne of Glass Series, also by Sarah J. Maas. As of the day I’m writing this (7/7/17) there are 5 nice, long novels available in the series, with a few of spinoff novels. Check out the series on Goodreads.

Why the TOG Series?

This fantasy world and the book boyfriends within are fairly comparable to those in the ACOTAR series. Obviously, considering SJM wrote this series as well!

BONUS

Another great read for your ACOTAR series hangover is Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge. Cruel Beauty is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast in a very unique way. It is dark and interesting and though the hero in this book can’t compete with my favorite book boyfriend, Rhysand, if you like the villian-turns-love-interest trope, you’ll enjoy this book.

Happy reading!

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “What to Read After the A Court of Thorns and Roses Series [Book Hangover]

  1. TOG is such a great series ! I actually had the pleasure to read it before I got into ACOTAR (I bought the entire series and finished it around 3 weeks ago) which was such a nice treat while I’m stuck waiting on Empire of Storms to arrive. I can’t wait for it, I’m so excited ! I hope its great as the rest man…. (fingers crossed for Chaol book this September too man)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s